Canadian Pizza Magazine

SilverChef awards to recognize Canadian hospitality entrepreneurs

By Canadian Pizza   

News Business and Operations Trends silverchef

Vancouver – A new national awards program will recognize hospitality entrepreneurs who excel in innovation, sustainability, social responsibility and impact.

Hospitality financing company SilverChef invites entrepreneurs from across Canada to apply, with up to $20,000 in commercial equipment up for grabs across four awards categories.

The SilverChef Hospitality Awards will acknowledge the hard work of hospitality entrepreneurs who are setting new standards in the areas of innovation, sustainability, social responsibility and impact, the company said in a news release. Each winner will take home $5,000 in commercial equipment to help grow their business.

“The Canadian food and hospitality experience is often celebrated, but over the last 33 years we’ve seen the unique challenges faced by hard-working hospitality entrepreneurs,” Robert Phelps, president. “That’s why we created these awards – to acknowledge and reward those who are advancing Canada’s hospitality sector and shaping the future of the industry.”


There are four awards available under the following categories:

  1. Communitarian Award: Hospitality operators who give back either through charitable giving or hiring practices that impact their local communities.
  2. Entrepreneur of the Year: New businesses that have introduced something exciting, either with technology or service offering. This award recognizes the obstacles faced by hospitality entrepreneurs, and highlights the winner’s achievements in their first year of business.
  3. Momentum Award: Establishments that have made the largest leap forward in terms of sustainability or environmental conservation (for example, food waste management).
  4. Hospitality Business of the Year: The establishment with the highest score overall.

Canadian hospitality operators may enter at no charge. To enter or nominate someone for an award, visit the awards website. The closing date for entries into the awards is Jan. 15, 2020, and finalists will be announced on Feb. 5.

The awards judging committee is made up of industry peers, veterans and mentors. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at the RC Show 2020 on March 3, 2020, in Toronto. All finalists will receive complimentary admission to RC Show 2020 but will not need to be present or exhibiting at the show to qualify or win.

Print this page


Stories continue below