Canadian Pizza Magazine

Ernst & Young kicks off Entrepreneur Of The Year 2009

By CNW   


March 4, 2009, Toronto – Ernst & Young is calling on you
to rally behind entrepreneurs and nominate inspirational individuals for this
year's Entrepreneur Of The Year.

"Entrepreneurs' ingenuity forms the backbone of our
marketplace," said Colleen McMorrow, national director of the Ernst &
Young Entrepreneur Of The Year awards. "Especially during a recession, we
rely on entrepreneurs to take risks, create new solutions and generate jobs.
Their vision, drive and passion fuel our economy, and can help lead the way
back to prosperity."

McMorrow officially launched the Entrepreneur Of The Year awards'
sixteenth year in Canada. From Research in Motion's Jim Balsillie and Mike Lazaridis
to Cirque du Soleil's Guy Laliberté and Aritzia LP's Brian Hill, Entrepreneur
Of The Year proudly honours entrepreneurs who've brought Canadian businesses to


"We'd like to see this year's program bigger and better
than ever," says McMorrow. "We must support the creativity and
resilience of entrepreneurs and organizations that seize opportunities and
improve business here, and around the world."

McMorrow says this global program looks for Canadian
entrepreneurs who have demonstrated excellence and extraordinary success in
areas such as innovation, financial performance and personal commitment to
their businesses and communities. Past winners include both emerging businesses
poised for breakthroughs and seasoned lifetime achievement recipients who've
transformed a vision to reality.

In addition to nominating others, self-nominations are also
encouraged, and there is no fee. Application forms must be received by April
30, 2009. To be eligible for consideration, the nominee must be an
owner/manager of a private or public organization who is primarily responsible
for the company's recent performance and an active member of top management.
The nominee's company must be at least two years old.

For more information on Entrepreneur Of The Year and the
nomination process, please visit This year's national program
sponsors are Global Television Network, National Post, La Presse and RDI.

Print this page


Stories continue below